Improvise, Adapt, Overcome

September 20, 2010 § 1 Comment

Today’s Lesson: Fake it till you make it.

11:30 pm

I should really be asleep right now. I keep looking at the blinking green LED clock on the stove. It’s taunting me. Go to sleep Katie. Go to sleep Katie. Go to sleep now. I keep telling it that I want to go to sleep. I just can’t. Plain and simple.

Today was pretty uneventful. In fact I’m still in the same pajamas I was in last night. (Don’t look at me that way, you do it too.)  The only time I left the house was onto the back porch to drink an ice cold Hawaiian Punch and watch my dog Lily sniff around in the grass. It was quite relaxing, however also very unproductive.

I was thinking this evening during my mad dash-excuse of a dinner about cooking and how it parallels life in so many ways.

“What’s for dinner?” Well… I hadn’t thought about it yet. (At 6:45pm.) *scratches head and looks at pantry.
Not much there. Well, looks like we’re going to fake it tonight.
So you grab a box of rice, frozen veggies, soy sauce, some eggs and leftover pork roast.. tada! Pork fried rice.

What? That’s not how you cook? Well on any given day that’s exactly how it is in my house.

So many times I find myself faking it. Do I know how to fill out this report? Nope. But I’m going to do it anyways. Do I know how many cups this is without a measuring cup? Pretty close but not really.. oh well. Do you think you could make a dessert for the potluck in an hour? Hmmm.. uh… yeah, sure. *runs to the store w/her own plate in hand

Seriously. How much time in the day do you spend “faking it”? It reminds me of the ‘unofficial’ Marine Corps mantra: Improvise, Adapt and Overcome. Although I’m pretty sure they meant it outside of the kitchen.

So what are you overcoming today?

§ One Response to Improvise, Adapt, Overcome

  • mindslam says:

    I found your blog earlier today from a post you left on another blog…have looked through it a bit & really like it. I have included it on my blog roll…keep up the good stuff!…Jason

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Improvise, Adapt, Overcome at Life in General.

meta

