Everyone is just waiting.

September 16, 2010 § 1 Comment

“Waiting for the fish to bite or waiting for wind to fly a kite.  Or waiting around for Friday night or waiting perhaps for their Uncle Jake or a pot to boil or a better break or a string of pearls or a pair of pants or a wig with curls or another chance.  Everyone is just waiting.”  ~Dr. Seuss

What a day! What a day!

Let me tell you about my job. I am an “Apprentice Jeweler” at the moment. I say at the moment because my jobs have changed on a moment’s notice and I never know where I’ll be transplanted to next. I’ve been a Catering Chef, an Account Executive for a shipping company, a Nanny and a few other things. This job is different, however. I can definitely feel the interest stirring inside of me in a field that seems to nurture and balance creativity and technicality. It peaks my interest to see how jewelry is made, where the concepts come from and how intricate details come together to make a whole, sometimes stunning, piece.


I see a lot of “cookie cutter” jewelry in my job. I suppose that’s because I’m in a location that sells quite a bit of it and of course, the stock is what it is. The potential for me to learn the ropes is abundant. I’m very blessed to be in a shop with a Class A jeweler who has made some amazing pieces of jewelry for some pretty amazing people. I’m excited to learn the ropes however impatient to climb the ladder and get on the bench! There is certainly a wealth of knowledge to be learned from the jewelers who work there and like a sponge I plan on soaking up every last drop.

Creativity is my outlet. This could be an interesting way for me to, perhaps someday, design my own pieces and make a name for myself. Who knows? Only time will tell.

§ One Response to Everyone is just waiting.

  • Janet says:

    “I can definitely feel the interest stirring inside of me in a field that seems to nurture and balance creativity and technicality. It peaks my interest to see how jewelry is made, where the concepts come from and how intricate details come together to make a whole, sometimes stunning, piece.”

    As I was reading this statement you made I could here the heart of an artist… It’s how I feel with the gift of writing… or in watching how God brings all the things together in my life that He does. It is like watching ‘Creation being made out of ‘creative chaos’… it is fascinating seeing something being made out of nothing. I’m excited for you and the artsy person in touches within you!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Everyone is just waiting. at Life in General.

meta

